The Ten Biggest Cycling Races in the World

National Cyclo-Cross Championships In Derby


Paris-Nice, also known as “the race to the sun,” first began in 1933, where it was won by Belgian rider Alfons Scheppers. Despite its name, the Paris-Nice has not always started in Paris. Some of the races in past years have began in towns on the outskirts, south of Paris, but the race always usually finishes up with the final stage at either the Promenade des Anglias in Nice or the Col d’ Eze.

Photo by Oli Scarff/Getty Images

Chris is a graduate of Saint Joseph's University in Philadelphia, where he majored in English and FIlm. He has been writing for TVOvermind and Uncoached for two years and has written about numerous different television shows and pop culture topics. Contact him through Twitter (@ckinger13).
More articles by

Leave a Reply