The Ten Biggest Cycling Races in the World

National Cyclo-Cross Championships

Tour de Romandie

The Tour de Romandie is a UCI World Tour stage race that takes place throughout the Romandie region of Switzerland, which is primarily a French-speaking area. The race began in 1947, as a way to celebrate the achievement of 50 years of Swiss Cycling. The race typically begins in Geneva and ends in Lausanne, which is a very hilly area. Four of the Tour de Romandie’s winners have gone on to win the Tour de France that very same year, three of them coming in the past three years: Stephen Roche (1987), then Cadel Evans (2011), Bradley Wiggins (2012), and Chris Froome (2013).

Photo by Oli Scarff/Getty Images

Chris is a graduate of Saint Joseph's University in Philadelphia, where he majored in English and FIlm. He has been writing for TVOvermind and Uncoached for two years and has written about numerous different television shows and pop culture topics. Contact him through Twitter (@ckinger13).
More articles by

Leave a Reply